My Top 3 Mistakes To Date

Sup everyone,

Today, I’m sharing some of the biggest mistakes I've made in my journey as a home service entrepreneur. It's not always easy to talk about our missteps, but I believe there's immense value in sharing these experiences and the lessons learned along the way.

But First…

I want to hear about what type of content is going to help you get the most value from this newsletter and the pod:

What topic do you want to hear more about?

If there is something specific, you can type it in the next box after you select an option below.

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

💥 Service Scalers is running this killer promo

It’s happening right now and you should take advantage of it! Sign up now to have them manage your SEO, and you'll receive a complimentary website as part of the deal. We all know that SEO is an essential investment for long-term growth in any business. Take advantage of this opportunity to kickstart your online presence and drive your business forward.

On The Pod

Join me for a warehouse tour!

Last week at the Breaking $5M Workshop we went on a deep dive in my warehouse. Make sure you don’t miss out on the next workshop June 4th-6th. Register now to save your seat.

On a recent episode of the podcast, Jack and I discuss how packout kits can enhance job efficiency and dive into the importance of selecting the right vendors.

At the end of the pod on youtube, check out an inside look at my warehouse.

If you’re enjoying the pod, a rating and review goes a long way to help us out! If you can take 3 seconds to do that, we thank you!

Ok, Let’s Get Into It

I've had my fair share of blunders, especially when it comes to navigating the complexities of running a business. But each mistake has been a learning opportunity. I hope you can learn from my mistakes and save yourself millions.

Mistake #1: Putting Cost Savings First

One of the most significant errors I made was adopting a cost-saving first philosophy. Back in 2020, we decided to move our entire call center operations to the Philippines in pursuit of reducing expenses. It seemed like a brilliant idea at the time, but it turned out to be a disaster.

What It Cost Us:

  • We neglected the skill development required to run a remote call center effectively.

  • We sacrificed customer service quality, leading to reputation harm and revenue loss.

  • It took years to unwind the decision and rebuild our call center capabilities in-house.

Mistake #2: Multi-Location Expansion Too Soon

I talk to a lot of people who want to do this… and I always tell them it’s a huge mistake. It’s completely unnecessary and you should just have your team drive.

I wish I didn’t expand into multiple locations prematurely. I was driven by a misguided belief that we were reaching the limit of our market potential, and we ventured into multi-location operations. Looking back, if I would have just consolidated to 1 location, I think we would be about $10M ahead of where we are today.

What It Cost Us:

  • It added unnecessary complexity and drive time.

  • We lost tons focus and wasted resources.

  • We missed out on significant revenue opportunities by diverting attention from core strategies.

Mistake #3: Prioritizing Cost over Competence in Accounting

A recurring mistake I made was prioritizing cost savings over competence, especially in crucial areas like accounting. By continually opting for cheaper options, I failed to recognize the importance of having the right person in charge.

What It Cost Us:

  • This had costly consequences, including financial losses and reputation damage.

  • Highlighted the significance of investing in competent professionals for critical functions.

  • Learned the hard way that cutting corners in essential areas can have severe repercussions.

I recently wrote a little on accounting in a newsletter a few weeks back. You can read it here or check out the video version of it on YouTube:

My Biggest Takeaways From These Mistakes

  • Value Skill Development: Investing in skill development and expertise is crucial for sustainable growth.

  • Focus on Core Strategies: Avoid distractions and stay focused on core strategies that drive revenue and value.

  • Invest in Competence: Prioritize competence over cost savings, especially in critical areas like accounting.

  • Embrace Growth Mindset: Embrace a growth mindset and view mistakes as opportunities for learning and improvement.

That’s it! Hope you can learn from my mistakes as you continue to scale your home service businesses.

Cya,
John Wilson

The Owned and Operated newsletter and podcast by John Wilson brings the best HVAC, plumbing, and electrical growth information to business owners looking to grow, scale, and win big. Visit us at www.ownedandoperated.com.

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Owned and Operated Weekly Insights to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Join the conversation

or to participate.